top of page

2022 Orison Chapbook Prize Results

Orison Books is pleased to announce that our founder and editor Luke Hankins has selected Passage, a lyric essay by Ellene Glenn Moore, as the winner of The 2022 Orison Chapbook Prize from among anonymous manuscripts. Glenn Moore will receive a $300 cash award, a two-year membership from contest sponsor Duotrope, and publication by Orison Books.

We're also happy to announce the excellent finalist pool:

Lawrence Coates, The Promise Land (fiction)

Jessica Goodfellow, Else (poetry)

Joshua Gottlieb-Miller, Dybbuk Americana (poetry)

Jed Myers, Word of Our Crossing (poetry)

Kevin Oberlin, God of No Sky (poetry)

Daniel Victor, Cargo (fiction)

Kirk Wilson, Scenarium (nonfiction)


Ellene Glenn Moore is an American writer living in Zürich. She is the author of How Blood Works (Kent State University Press, 2021), winner of the Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize, and the chapbook The Dark Edge of the Bluff (Green Writers Press, 2017). Her lyric nonfiction, poetry, and critical work has appeared in West Branch, Hayden’s Ferry Review, Brevity, Best New Poets, Poetry Northwest, and elsewhere.


2021: The Body Problem, poems by Margaret Wack

2020: A Husband and Wife Are One Satan, stories by Jeff Fearnside

2019: Divining, poems by Brooke Sahni


bottom of page