top of page

Announcing the Winner of The 2020 Orison Chapbook Prize!

Orison Books is pleased to announce that our founder and editor Luke Hankins has selected A Husband and Wife Are One Satan, stories by Jeff Fearnside, as the winner of The 2020 Orison Chapbook Prize from among anonymous manuscripts. Fearnside will receive a $300 cash award as well as publication of his chapbook by Orison Books.

We're also happy to announce the excellent finalist pool:

"Call the Carmelites" by Jane V. Blunschi (nonfiction)

"How We Burn" by Erica Charis-Molling (poems)

"Volant Empyrean" by Joshua Gage (poems)

"Palindrome" by Elizabeth Genovise (fiction)

"Birds Of" by Jill Mceldowney (poems)

"Dear Alydar" by Jill Mceldowney (poems)

"Annabelle in Love" by Judah Skoff (fiction)

"Partition Homes" by Sneha Subramanian Kanta (poems)

"Maquette" by G.C. Waldrep (poems)


Photo by Sabina Poole

Jeff Fearnside is the author of two full-length books, the short story collection Making Love While Levitating Three Feet in the Air (Stephen F. Austin State University Press) and the essay collection Ships in the Desert (forthcoming from the SFWP Press). His creative work has appeared widely in literary journals such as The Paris Review, Los Angeles Review, Story, The Pinch, and The Sun. Awards for his work include a Grand Prize in the Santa Fe Writers Project’s Literary Awards Program, the Mary Mackey Short Story Prize, and an Individual Artist Fellowship award from the Oregon Arts Commission. Fearnside lived in Central Asia for four years and has taught writing and literature at the Academy of Languages in Kazakhstan and various institutions in the U.S., currently Oregon State University.


Divining, poems by Brooke Sahni, winner of The 2019 Orison Chapbook Prize, is available here!


bottom of page