top of page

The Winner of The 2023 Orison Chapbook Prize

We're pleased to announce that Luke Hankins, founder and editor of Orison Books, has selected "A Map to Mercy," an essay by Elizabeth Jarrett Andrew, as the winner of The 2023 Orison Chapbook Prize from hundreds of anonymous submissions. Jarrett Andrew will receive $300 and publication of her chapbook.

Hankins is also pleased to recognize the following outstanding manuscripts:


Colin Bailes, "Assemblage After the Wreck" (poetry)

April Bulmer, "Good Grief" (poetry)

Halina Duraj, "Dolphins That Spend Mambo" (fiction)

Marilyn Moriarty, "Bone Lab" (essays)

Nnadi Samuel, "A Country of Bones & Medieval Rot" (poetry)

Angela Sucich, "Breadcrumbs" (essays)


Richard Brostoff, "Crossings" (poetry)

Anthony Dimatteo, "Soul Talk" (poetry)

Dorian Fox, "It Might Always Be Like This" (essays)

Mary Ladany, "Where Sky Is Water" (poetry)

Tara MacMahon, "Stars I Could Not Calculate" (poetry)

Fran Markover, "How in Springtime I'll Kneel" (poetry)

Judith Montgomery, "Double-Winged Seed" (poetry)

Jed Myers, "In Dazzle" (poetry)

Greg Sellers, "Questions Above the World Below" (poetry)

Chris Siteman, "Bitch" (essays)


Elizabeth Jarrett Andrew is the author of Swinging on the Garden Gate: A Memoir of Bisexuality & Spirit, now in its second edition; the novel Hannah, Delivered; a collection of personal essays, On the Threshold: Home, Hardwood, and Holiness; and three books on writing: Writing the Sacred Journey: The Art and Practice of Spiritual Memoir; Living Revision: A Writer’s Craft as Spiritual Practice, winner of the silver Nautilus Award; and The Release: Finding Creativity and Freedom After the Writing is Done. She is a founding member of The Eye of the Heart Center, where she teaches writing as a transformational practice. She is a recipient of two Minnesota State Arts Board artists’ fellowships, The Loft Career Initiative Grant, and is a Minnesota Book Awards finalist. She lives in Minneapolis with her wife, daughter, and two rambunctious cats. You can connect with Elizabeth at and


The Orison Chapbook Prize, judged by Orison Books founder and editor, Luke Hankins, is open for submissions in any genre each year from April 1 – July 1. The winner receives $300 and publication. Find complete details here.


bottom of page