top of page

The Orison Anthology

Vol. 1, 2016

Edited by Luke Hankins, Nathan Poole, & Karen Tucker


200 pp. / $24
Orison Books
ISSN: 2380-7776
ISBN: 978-0-9906917-8-5
Publication date: October 4, 2016
Distributed to the trade by Itasca Books

Beginning in 2018, each volume of The Orison Anthology will be cataloged in the EBSCOhost digital database.





The Orison Anthology is an annual collection of the finest spiritually engaged writing that appeared in periodicals in the preceding year. Our anthology aims to not only fill, but expand, the space left by the absence of the Best American Spiritual Writing series. In addition to reprinted material, each year the anthology will also include new, previously unpublished works of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry by the winners of The Orison Anthology Awards, judged by different prominent writers each year. The judges for Volume 1 were Kevin McIlvoy, Ann Hood, and Claire Bateman. The winners receive $500 each, as well as publication. The winners for Vol. 1 were Jill Widner, Elizabeth Jarrett Andrew, and Christopher J. Adamson.





Christopher J. Adamson
Kaveh Akbar
Elizabeth Jarrett Andrew
Bruce Beasley
Zeina Hashem Beck
Bruce Bond
Shevaun Brannigan
Jai Chakrabarti
Dante Di Stefano
James W. Flannery
Brett Foster
Alison Gopnik
Rachel Eliza Griffiths
Samuel Harrison
Dave Harrity
Jane Hirshfield
Elizabeth Hoover
Kimberly Johnson
Richard Jones
Vandana Khanna
David Kirby
Li-Young Lee
Shara Lessley
Jenny Molberg
Bruno Nelson
Carl Phillips
Emilia Phillips
Catherine Prescott
Stella Vinitchi Radulescu
Doug Ramspeck
Molly Reid
Joshua Robbins
Purvi Shah
Brian Volck
Marcus Wicker
Jill Widner
Christian Wiman
Franz Wright
C. Dale Young
Katherine E. Young

The Orison Anthology, vol. 1, 2016

$24.00 Regular Price
$10.00Sale Price
bottom of page